donraymedia

Welcome to Hawaii Sunshine Chronicles

In Uncategorized on January 3, 2009 at 6:43 am

This is the first of what will be many entries on this new blog. It’s about the stuff that I dig up as I poke around places, meet interesting folks and live the life of an ever-curious journalist.

Oh, my name is Don Ray.

I’m funded by the Grassroot Institute of Hawaii. My title is “Transparency Correspondent”. My task is to report on all levels of government in Hawaii. I’m looking specifically for juicy examples of government waste, misuse of the people’s hard-earned tax dollars, corruption, cronyism or just plain poor performance on the part of our public servants.

I hope you’ll check in occasionally and watch “the new guy” as he finds his way around a world that’s new and different for him.

I’ve been involved in investigations for more than 40 years — 30 years as a journalist. I’ve spent most of my time in Southern California. I was born in Hollywood. But I’ve done in-depth reporting in many of the United States and in dozens of other countries on five continents. I’ve also trained hundreds of journalists in Third-World countries and other developing democracies. My specialty is the kind of watchdog journalism that ferrets our corruption, election fraud, consumer fraud and incompetence within government.

Indeed, I’m going to need a lot of help, so I hope that you’ll feel free to post comments on this blog or e-mail me at donray@donray.com. Yes, I do accept anonymous phone calls. You can reach me at (808) 450-2009.

  1. You wear a name tag at your own birthday party? I agree that if you are getting paid to do this, you should be a little more careful with the proof reading. I on the other hand can and do make mistakes often, because it is just my own e-mails that I have not re-read. (Edited for brevity purposes)

    Barbara

    • Barbara,
      It’s true that a name tag seems silly, but you’ll note that there are numbers printed on the bottom. To encourage guests to get to know each other, I made up a numbered list that I gave to each person. The numbers corresponded to numbers that I had printed on each person’s name tag. The notations could be someone’s profession, their major in college, their hobby, a special skill, a wonderful trait — anything that might be of interest to someone else. It works well. Everyone went up to everyone else, read the numbers on the name tags and then looked it up on the list.
      People who may have never spoken to other people ended up speaking with practically everybody. The left the silly party with new friends.
      It was successful. That’s why I wore a name tag. OK? May I get back to work now?

  2. Hey Don!
    Good to read once again stories you write. I am particularly interested in your insistent on fighting injustice and corruption. You are actually putting into practise ‘Follow the money’ theory you taught us here. I know it is a little bit difficult follow it to the book in countries like Malawi in Africa but reading your blog will also go a long way to assist us in getting tips on how to go about our business here. I can tell you that there are a number of changes in the way Malawian journalist (those you trained) they are handling their reports. Obviously we are going to do much better if we read your blog.
    It is great
    Rex

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

